Home > World Cup Betting > Winners of Golden Ball, Golden Boot and Golden Glove recap!

Winners of Golden Ball, Golden Boot and Golden Glove recap!

July 16th, 2014


At the final Ceremony for the FIFA 2014 World Cup in Rio de Janeiro on Sunday the 13th of July 2014 after Germany win the game in extra time 1-0 there were also some individual winners that were recognised for their great performance during this tournament.

The first award was he Golden Ball Award, which is given to the most outstanding player in the entire tournament, followed by the top scorer, the best goalkeeper and the best young player whom are also honoured.

The 2014 Golden Ball winner was Lionel Mess of Argentina with the Silver Ball going to Thomas Mueller of Germany and the Bronze Ball goes to Arjen Robben of the Netherlands.  In the end the voters decided that Lionel Mess was the best of the candidates, even as his team lost the final match against Germany, which continues the trend for the Golden Ball that can go to a player not on the winning World Cup team.  Lionel Messi did score four goals and one assist in the tournament bringing his team to the finals, which was a great accomplishment for the World Class soccer star.The 2014 Golden Boot Award is the only award that is not voted on, but goes to the top goal scorer of the tournament.  If there is a tie, the winner is the player with the most assists and then the one that scored the most goals in the least amount of playing time.  In the final game none of the leading scorers were able to score in the finals thus the award went to Rodriguez even as he played only five games.

The 2014 Golden Boot winner was James Rodriguez of Colombia with the Silver Boot going to Thomas Mueller of Germany and the Bronze Boot going to Neymar of Brazil.

The 2014 Golden Glove Award features the most outstanding goalkeeper in the FIFA 2014 World Cup Tournament.  As most fans witnessed there were some incredible instances of goalkeeping that made it difficult to select one winner.  Finishing in the top three were goalkeepers from the final game with Nuer of Germany and Romero of Argentina who had strong showings. While Costa Rica’s Navas was also in the top three contenders after his team made a surprise entrance to the quarterfinals.  Nuer, who was the eventual winner of the prestigious award was the strength of his team in every game and was a major reason for Germany’s success in this 2014 World Cup.

The 201 Golden Glove Winner was Manuel Nuer of Germany with Keylor Navas of Costa Rica and Sergio Romero of Argentina as Finalist for the Golden Glove.

Comments are closed.